Summer’s Snowflakes

Downy feathers from babies becoming
Litter my lawn like snowflakes
Signs of growth
Up and away

My own chick
Yearning to fly
Molts comfort and certainty
With trepidatous tears

Yet, new feathers evolve
Called Courage and Chaos
Glorious and strong
To carry her where she longs to be

She soars
Higher and higher
A distant dot on the
Horizon of my life

‘Tis my season to molt, too
Shedding old ways
Fashioning a new feather coat
For myself

Then I am left
With our molted feathers
These summertime snowflakes
Memories of joys and sufferings

Gathered to line my twilight.

~ by writermichelle on September 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
